The Ceylon Traveller

Originally published in the Sunday Leader of 4th December, 2011 on page 39.

Online version here but the print version looks so much better with a full page. Will try to scan and post it sometime soon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

1. Medirigiriya 2. Habarana 3. Kantharodai, Jaffna 4. Temple of the Tooth, Kandy 5. Buthawa, Yala 6. Kinniya, Trincomalee

I was bitten by the travel bug very early in life. All thanks to my parents who are always ready to hit the road, whether it is an impromptu day trip (like deciding to go to Udawalawe because I have a case of exam nerves and the only thing that will calm me is having our vehicle chased by an elephant) or an elaborately long planned trip (such as their honeymoon which was a cross country road trip). As a result of this, I have travelled all over Sri Lanka and been to more places than most people I know.

There are places that became second homes, such as Yala. There are unusual and obscure places like Lulkandura, Sri Lanka’s first commercial tea estate where James Taylor planted the first tea plant or the Kudiramali cliff in Mannar with its remnants of ancient habitation. There are adventures that will never be forgotten like climbing Adam’s peak through a jungle route during the rainy offseason or how I got lost while climbing down from Mihintale. In exactly one month from now, I’ll be moving out of home and embarking on what I choose to call yet another adventure. And as excited as I am, it is definitely bittersweet.

So this photo essay is a small way of saying thank you to my parents for passing on their love for travel, for instilling in me a love for history and archaeology and most importantly, for giving me all the reasons in the world to stay in this country and keep coming back home no matter where life may take me.

Leave a Reply

