Jaane Tu…Ya Jaane Na (Soundtrack)

Jaane Tu…Ya Jaane Na (Soundtrack) 2008
LABEL : T Series

Music – A.R. Rahman

It is the trend in Bollywood to release movie soundtracks months before the movies are released. And sometimes the worst movies turn out to have the best soundtracks, Saawariya being the most recent example. I usually check out the soundtracks as soon as they are released but with no cable tv at home for the last few months, I haven’t been that up to date with my Hindi movie soundtracks.

And that is how I missed out on the soundtrack for Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na until I watched the movie. Truth be told, I wasn’t interested in watching the movie but with all the hype about it, decided to check it out nevertheless. The first half of the movie was passable but then it just turned into the usual masala flick. But the music……

Let me admit it before someone accuses me of it, I tend to be biased when it comes to Rahman. He is one of the few men who can make me bawl my eyes out and/or walk around for days with butterflies in my stomach because of something as small as a beautiful harmony that lasted for a few seconds in a song. But I promise I will try to review the soundtrack as objectively as possible.

For starters, it is not Rahman’s best work but then again, I don’t think it was expected to be either. The songs are not challenging and don’t require extreme voice ranges. In keeping with the spirit of the movie, it is fun music which is not too intense. But there are some very good young singers at work in this soundtrack and I want to hear more of them.

Rashid Ali is a revelation. In ‘Kabhi Kabhi Aditi’ he sounds somewhat like Adnan Sami but definitely not nasal like Sami is. The song is very simple and the main instruments that could be heard are guitar, flute and drums. He sings with a slight Western touch which suits the movie but I’d love to hear more of him in different styles. And about the melody, I hope it was a coincidence but it sounds uncannily similar to the song Appudo Ippudo from the Telegu movie Bommarillu.

The other song Rashid Ali sings in this soundtrack is Kahin To and this shows more range to his voice than the other song. But I must confess I wished Rahman himself would have sung it because the higher range would have had more personality than Ali’s rendition. Vasundhara Das (Chale Jaise Hawaein – Main Hoon Na) is fabulous though she only sings four lines for the entirety of the song. Her voice complements Ali’s voice very well. While this song is beautiful, I felt that it was not suitable for the climax of the movie. The climax itself was not very good and the song did nothing to improve it.

Tu Bole Main Boloon was sung by Rahman. The song was very jazzy and reminded me of Vennila Vennila­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­ from Iruvar. The tune was goosebump inducing but I felt that it should have been written a few keys higher so that it could have been sung gustily because the voice was not strong enough for the style of the song.

Nazrein Milaana, Nazrein Churaana is probably my favorite song out of the entire soundtrack. It is sung by seven singers and I’m yet to figure out who is singing which part. But I love the female voice that begins the song. It is a very husky voice, similar to but not as deep as Sunidhi Chauhan’s. The rest of the voices are also very good though there is nothing distinct about them. But they all work well together as a group. Also, check out the harmony in the few seconds between 0.52-1.05 and between 2.22-2.35. That is what is giving me ‘Rahman butterflies’ these days.

Pappu Can’t Dance is just fun. I love how the ‘thrikita thaana’ well complements the rest of the song which is very Western. The singing gets annoying at some points, especially the female voices but you get the feeling that it was on purpose. However I could be wrong about that. And any idea who pappu is? Saif Ali Khan? Muscular, popular, bachelor and quite angrez, in my opinion he also can’t dance. There is a remix of Pappu Can’t Dance by Krishna Chetan but there is nothing special about it.

Both Runa Rizvi and Sukhwinder Singh sang a track each of Jaane Tu Mera(i) Kya Hai and while I love both their voices, the songs were uninspiring. The arrangements were very different in the two tracks and I have a feeling that they will grow on me once I listen to them a few more times. Especially Sukhwinder’s version because I love his voice.

I obviously can’t comment on the lyrics and my insightful observations on them are that (a) there was more than a smattering of English words since the movie was urban and (b) the line ‘jaane tu…ya jaane na’ was repeated in almost every song.

Like I said, not Rahman’s best work and so far Jodha-Akbar remains his best work for 2008. But it is an addictive soundtrack and it’s all I’ve been listening to all day.

Leave a Reply

